Marin Movies in the Park for Summer 2013

May 21, 2013

movie night in old mill park, mill valleyHere is a the 2013 summer movie schedule for Film Night in the Park, which presents free outdoor movies on a giant screen in various parks throughout Marin and San Francisco. Show time for all the movies is 8 pm, but arrive a little early for music, a raffle, and a cartoon. Reminiscent of the drive-in movies of yesteryear, Film Night in the Park is noted for its audience participation, with cheers for heroes, boos and hisses for villains, sing-a-longs, and hearty applause.

This season's offerings are a fun mix of recent hits like Pixar's Brave, Lincoln, and Moonrise Kingdom and classics including The Princess Bride, Raiders of the Lost Ark, and Hitchcock's The Birds. There's definitely something for everyone.

Grab your blanket, pillow and pack the picnic basket—because Film Night in the Park is coming soon to a park near you. Admission is free, but donations are appreciated. Popcorn, candy, and sodas will be available for sale. For more information call (415) 272-2756 or visit www.filmnight.org.

2013 Film Night in the Park Schedule

June 7 (Friday) Chasing Ice
Fairfax
June 15 Saturday) Raiders of the Lost Ark (PG) SF—Dolores Park
June 21 (Friday) Hugo (PG)
Mill Valley
June 22 (Saturday) Skyfall (PG-13)
San Rafael—China Camp
June 28 (Friday) Argo (R)
San Anselmo
June 29 (Saturday) Jurassic Park (PG-13)
San Anselmo
July 5 (Friday) Super 8 (PG-13)
San Anselmo
July 6 (Saturday) Return of the Jedi (PG) San Anselmo
July 12 (Friday) Footloose (R)
SF—Dolores Park
July 13 (Saturday) Vicky Cristina Barcelona (PG-13)
SF—Union Square
July 19 (Friday) School of Rock (PG-13) San Anselmo
July 20 (Saturday) Brave (PG) San Anselmo
July 26 (Friday) Moonrise Kingdom (PG-13)
San Anselmo
July 27 (Saturday) The Road to Eldorado (PG) San Anselmo
August 3 (Saturday) The Princess Bride (PG) SF—Dolores Park
August 9 (Friday) Being There (PG) San Anselmo
August 10 (Saturday) Lincoln (PG-13) San Anselmo
August 16 (Friday) Singletrack High (NR) San Anselmo
August 17 (Saturday) The Avengers
San Anselmo
August 17 (Saturday) Signin' In the Rain SF—Union Square
September 6 (Friday) The Lorax (PG)
Mill Valley
September 7 (Saturday) Moonrise Kingdom (PG-13)
SF—Washington Square
September 14 (Saturday) The Birds (PG) San Rafael
September 21 (Saturday) Skyfall (PG-13)
SF—Dolores Park

Film Night Locations

Marin

  • San Anselmo: Creek Park, the 400 block of Sir Francis Drake Boulevard
  • Fairfax: Contratti Park
  • Mill Valley: Old Mill Park, 300 block of Throckmorton Avenue
  • Greenbrae: Hal Brown Park at Creekside, Bon Air Road
  • San Rafael: China Camp State Park, 899 North San Pedro Road

San Francisco

  • Dolores Park: Dolores and 19th
  • Union Square: Geary and Powell
  • Washington Square Park: Union and Columbus