Back to top
Home | 12 New Holiday Picture Books for Kids for 2018

12 New Holiday Picture Books for Kids for 2018

Holiday Children's Books

Who doesn't love snuggling up on the couch on a cool December night with a great book to read together? Here are 12 fantastic new holiday-themed kids picture books, suggested by Clare and Susan at Book Passage in Corte Madera. Find them all at your local Marin County library or bookstore.

Construction site on Christmas Night by Sherri Rinker
In this playful toddler book, the trucks and construction equipment are gearing up for Christmas by building a special gift! But, there's a surprise waiting for each of them, too! Presents await for Excavator, Bulldozer, Crane, Dump Truck, and Cement Mixer as each finishes their part of this big, important job and rolls off to a sweet and sleepy goodnight.

Santa Bruce by Ryan Higgins
Hapless Bruce the Bear is definitely not Santa Claus, but that doesn't stop the whole forest from lining up to give him their Christmas wishes when he becomes the victim of mistaken identity—again.

Last Stop on the Reindeer Express by Maudie Powell-Tuck
The magic of Christmas is found on every page of this imaginative holiday picture book, with interactive die-cut features like doors that open into the next page, peek-through holes, and even a card to open and read!

The Christmas Tree Who Loved Trains by Annie Silvestro
This poignant Christmas tale about a tree who loved trains and a little boy who loved them, too is perfect for readers who love The Giving Tree and The Velveteen Rabbit.

The Nutcracker and the Four Realms by Calliope Glass
With beautiful illustrations, an enchanting story, and a foreword written by celebrated ballet dancer Misty Copeland, this picture book brings Disney's The Nutcracker and the Four Realms to life in a brand-new way.

I Got the Christmas Spirit by Connie Schofield-Morrison
This exuberant picture book explores the joys of the holiday season, illustrated by award-winning artist Frank Morrison. Join a little girl and her mother as they enjoy the sights and sounds of the holiday season, like sleigh bells ringing, carolers singing, and chestnuts roasting.

Merry Christmas, Little Elliot by Mike Curato
Best friends Little Elliot and Mouse are back for another adventure―and this time, they're looking for Christmas spirit! This heartfelt celebration of the season of giving is perfect for sharing during the holidays.

Baby Reindeer: Finger Puppet Book by Chronicle Books
Follow Baby Reindeer as he experiences his snowy world in this cute, warmly illustrarted board book for the littlest readers.

The Snowy Nap by Jan Brett
Nobody quite depicts scenes of snowy magic like Jan Brett, and her new offering tells how Hedgie the hedgehog decides to stay awake and have fun instead of going to his burrow to hibernate.

Winter is Here by Kevin Henkes
Snow falls, animals burrow, and children prepare for winter's wonders in this book by Caldecott Medalist and award-winning author Kevin Henkes, with expressive illustrations by Laura Dronzek.

All-of-a-Kind Family Hanukkah by Emily Jenkins and Sydney Taylor
Join a family of Jewish immigrants in New York's Lower East Side as they celebrate Hanukkah in 1912.

Meet the Latkes by Alan Silberberg
Lucy Latke’s family is just like yours or mine. Except that they’re potato pancakes. And also, they are completely clueless. After lighting the menorah and gobbling the gelt, Grandpa Latke tells everyone the Hanukkah story, complete with mighty "Mega Bees" who use a giant dreidel to fight against the evil alien potatoes from Planet Chhh.

2019 Marin Summer Camp Guide