Back to top
Home | 25 Free Things to Do for Families in July

25 Free Things to Do for Families in July

Kids get in free to the Marin County Fair on Wednesday, July 3.

It's July, and you don't have to break the bank to have a great time with the kiddos! Here are 25 free activities and outings in Marin and the Bay Area this month. Keep in mind some of these activities require advance registration, so check before you go.

  1. Tap your toes to tunes by Dave Fromer at Marin City Library, Monday, July 1, 3:30–4:30 pm
  2. Visit the de Young Museum for free, Tuesday, July 2, 9:30 am–5:15 pm
  3. Make some art at Hal Brown Park in Greenbrae, Tuesday, July 2, 10 am–noon
  4. Learn and play at the Bay Area Discovery Museum for free, Wednesday, July 3, 9 am–5 pm
  5. Kids get in free to the Marin County Fair on Kids Day, Wednesday, July 3, 11 am–11 pm
  6. Watch the Marin County Fair fireworks and make s'mores at McInnis Park, Wednesday, July 3, 8 pm
  7. Take an awesome summer hike with the kiddos
  8. Visit Marin County Parks, including McNears Beach and Stafford Lake, for free, Saturday, July 6, all day
  9. Craft and create at South Novato Library's makerspace, Saturday, July 6, 11 am–1 pm
  10. Enjoy a free concert on Novato's Civic Green, Saturday, July 7 and 20, 5–7 pm
  11. Come play at a Peppa Pig Party at Mill Valley Library, Tuesday, July 9, 11 am
  12. Musical storyteller Asheba performs at San Anselmo Library, Wednesday, July 10, 1–2 pm
  13. View the moon and stars through telescopes at Novato Library, Tuesday, July 11, 8:45 pm
  14. See Where the Wild Things Are at Old Mill Park in Mill Valley, Friday, July 12, dusk
  15. Take a free Jelly Belly Factory Tour, Fairfield.
  16. Learn about Marine Mammal Superheroes at the Marine Mammal Center, Sunday, July 14 and 28, 10 am–4 pm.
  17. Enjoy family fun at Sundays on Sherman in downtown Novato, July 14, 11 am–3 pm
  18. Sing and dance with Miss Kitty at the San Rafael Library, Friday, July 19, 10:30 am
  19. Take a ranger-led walk with your (on-leash) dog at Loma Alta Preserve in Fairfax, Sunday, July 21, 8–10 am
  20. See How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World outdoors at the Green Music Center in Rohnert Park, Sunday, July 21, 5 pm
  21. Take a Nature for Kids Hike to Kehoe Beach in Point Reyes, Tuesday, July 23, 10 am–1 pm
  22. Become a superhero-in-training at a magic show at Mill Valley Library, Wednesday, July 24, 3:30–4:30 pm
  23. Meet live raptor birds at Novato Library, Thursday, July 25, 3:30 pm
  24. Alphabet Rockers take the stage at Yerba Buena Center, Friday, July 26, 11 am and 12:15 pm
  25. See the San Francisco Ballet perform at Stern Grove, Sunday, July 28, 2 pm (but get there early!)