Back to top
Home | 25 Free Things to Do for Families in July

25 Free Things to Do for Families in July

Jelly Belly Factory Tour Fairfield

Kids get in free to the Marin County Fair on Monday, July 2.

It's July, and you don't have to break the bank to have a great time with the kiddos! Here are 25 free activities and outings in Marin and the Bay Area this month. Keep in mind some of these activities require advance registration, so check before you go.

  1. Kids get in free to the Marin County Fair on Kids Day, Monday, July 2, 11 am–11 pm
  2. Visit the de Young Museum for free, Tuesday, July 3, 9:30 am–5:15 pm
  3. Watch the Marin County Fair fireworks (and make s'mores!) at McInnis Park, Tuesday, July 3, 8 pm
  4. Take an awesome summer hike with the kiddos
  5. See the Star Wars: The Last Jedi in Mill Valley, Friday, July 6, movie begins at sunset
  6. Visit Marin County Parks, including McNears Beach and Stafford Lake, for free, Saturday, July 7, all day
  7. Enjoy a free concert on Novato's Civic Green, Saturday, July 7 and 21, 5–7 pm
  8. Learn about Marine Mammal Superheroes at the Marine Mammal Center, July 8 and 22, 10 am–4 pm.
  9. Play bingo with rangers at Paradise Beach Park in Tiburon, Wednesday, July 11, 10 am
  10. Puppet Art Theater appears at Larkspur Library, Thursday, July 12, 4 pm
  11. Take a free Jelly Belly Factory Tour, Fairfield.
  12. Hike the Terwilliger Nature Trail at Stafford Lark Park in Novato, Saturday, July 14, 9 am
  13. See Pixar's Ratatouille in San Anselmo's Creek Park, Saturday, July 14, 7 pm
  14. Enjoy family fun at Sundays on Sherman in downtown Novato, July 15, 11 am–3 pm
  15. Experience the Fratello Marionettes at the Novato Library, Tuesday, July 17, 10:30 am
  16. Musical storyteller Asheba performs at the San Anselmo Library, Wednesday, July 18, 1 pm
  17. Make your own Flicker Bug STEM craft at the Civic Center Library, Thursday, July 19, 1 pm
  18. Marvel to award-winning magician Mike Della Penna at the San Rafael Library, Thursday, July 19, 2:30 pm
  19. Gather 'round the campfire at Stafford Lark Park, Friday, July 20,
  20. Watch the original 101 Dalmations outside at Marin Country Mart in Larkspur, Wednesday, July 25, 6 pm
  21. Sing and dance with Miss Kitty at the San Rafael Library, Friday, July 27, 10:30 am
  22. Alphabet Rockers take the stage at Yerba Buena Center, Friday, July 27, 11 am and 12:15 pm
  23. Visit Martin Griffin Preserve with WildCare, Saturday, July 28, 10 am
  24. See the San Francisco Ballet perform at Stern Grove, Sunday, July 29, 2 pm
  25. Meet creepy critters at the Point Reyes Library, Monday, July 30, 11 am

Today's Events

Friday, July 20, 2018
Childrens Museum of Sonoma County
9:00 am
Bay Area Discovery Museum
9:00 am
Habitot Children's Museum
9:30 am
CVS Parking Lot
9:30 am
Pomegranate Prenatal Yoga & Parent Center
9:30 am