Back to top
Home | Favorite New Holiday Kids' Books for 2019

Favorite New Holiday Kids' Books for 2019

Who doesn't love snuggling up on the couch on a cool December night with a great book to read together? Here are eight fantastic new holiday-themed kids' books, suggested by Clare Doornbos at Book Passage in Corte Madera. Find them all at your local Marin County library or bookstore.

Long Ago on a Silent Night by Julie Berry
In this poignant and lyrical story by Printz Honor recipient Julie Berry, the miracle of Christmas and the promise in every new child come together in a luminous celebration of unconditional love and hope. With tender, incandescent illustrations by Annie Won, the wonder of the nativity story and the marvel of every baby come alive in a wholly extraordinary book for families everywhere.  

The Crayons Christmas by Drew Daywalt
’Tis the season for all of us to write our holiday wishlists. But everyone—even the crayons—know the best presents are the ones that you give. In this unique book, readers get to see how Duncan, the crayons, and their families celebrate the holidays. With real, folded letters from the Crayons that you can pull from their envelopes and read, games, punch-out ornaments, a poster, and a pop-up tree, this book is the perfect gift for fans of The Day the Crayons Quit and The Day the Crayons Came Home.  

The Great Santa Stakeout by Betsy Bird
Freddy Melcher is Santa's #1 Fan. He has Santa posters, Santa action figures, and even Santa underwear. But there is one prize Freddy desperately wants: A photograph taken with Santa, fresh out of the chimney. Oh, is it risky! It's awfully hard to sneak anything by someone who can see you when you're sleeping and knows when you're awake. That's why Freddy has been extra good this year . . . at hiding his plans. Will Freddy get away with his delightfully devious scheme to outwit Santa Claus himself and capture the ultimate selfie?  

The Tree That's Meant to Be by Yuval Zommer
A small, crooked fir tree is left all alone after the others near it in the forest are chosen by families as Christmas to bring home. But when the forest animals gather around the lonely little tree to cheer it up and celebrate the season, it finds the warmth of the holidays in the heart of a cold, snowy forest. This is a charming and classic-feeling holiday picture book with a timely message about celebrating our differences and sticking by our friends. Families will love making this part of their holiday traditions, as a perfect book to talk about kindness, generosity, and the true meaning of Christmas.  

Harry Potter: A Hogwarts Christmas Pop-Up
A Hogwart's Christmas Pop-Up invites fans to interact and customize their own 3-D pop-up tree by adorning it with unique removable ornaments, each designed to resemble an iconic artifact or element from the films. This book can be reused and displayed each year to countdown to Christmas.  

The Shortest Day by Susan Cooper
As the sun set on the shortest day of the year, early people would gather to prepare for the long night ahead. They built fires and lit candles. They played music, bringing their own light to the darkness, while wondering if the sun would ever rise again. Written for a theatrical production that has become a ritual in itself, Susan Cooper’s poem The Shortest Day captures the magic behind the returning of the light, the yearning for traditions that connect us with generations that have gone before — and the hope for peace that we carry into the future.  

All-of-a-Kind Family Hanukkah by Emily Jenkins
When Gertie, the youngest, is not allowed to help prepare latkes, she throws a tantrum. Banished to the girls’ bedroom, she can still hear the sounds and smell the smells of a family getting ready to celebrate. But then Papa comes home and she is allowed out—and given the best job of all: lighting the first candle on the menorah.  

Goodnight Bubbala by Sheryl Haft
This zesty parody of one of America’s favorite picture books offers a very different bedtime routine: one that is full of family exuberance and love. Instead of whispers of “hush,” this bedtime includes dancing and kvelling, and of course, noshing—because this little bunny is a Jewish bunny, and this joyous book celebrates the Jewish values of cherishing your loved ones, expressing gratitude, and being generous. Filled with Yiddish words, the book includes a phonetic glossary and even an easy latke recipe by beloved cookbook author Ina Garten, who calls the book “brilliant, beautiful, important, and so much fun!”

2020 Marin Summer Camp Guide